Volunteering – Helen’s Story

HelenVolunteers’ Week is an annual celebration of the fantastic contribution millions of volunteers make across the UK – and it’s taking place from the 1-7 June 2014. Here is the story of Helen – just one of the wonderful volunteers who give up their spare time to volunteer at PHM.

I was working full-time, teaching English in a local high school when I decided that life was about more than spending weekends marking books and analysing data.  Fortunately I was able to reduce my teaching commitment to three days and I was determined I would do something useful in at least one of my extra days off.  The advertisement for volunteers at PHM seemed like an ideal opportunity to do something different in my spare time.

Three years later I am still volunteering; it has been such a rewarding experience: I have been able to see what goes on ‘behind the scenes of a museum’; learn more about history, and get the chance to work in the shop, serving customers and pricing stock – which is particularly therapeutic!  I even had the opportunity to take a day trip to Shrewsbury when I was asked to return a banner to the local college.  Meeting visitors to PHM has been especially rewarding, they are usually pleased to be visiting and frequently make very positive comments about their experience.

Volunteering is something I would definitely recommend to others.  Hopefully I have been of some use to the museum; it certainly has enhanced my life and given me the chance to work with some interesting and lovely people!

Leave a Reply

